Songs For A Fireplace.

Did you know that I wrote a poem about you? Yea, you. Whoever you are. I wrote about you. I write about all of you who exist, who don’t exist, who once existed, who may exist at some point. I write about each and every one of you. You’re all a part of me now.

To be a fly on the wall in the Oval Office today.

I’ve been asked several times if I’m planning on attending Barack Obama’s inauguration. I’ve responded thus far with a ‘maybe,’ but let’s be real here. If you’re just an average fanboy without a press credential (and even if you have a press credential) where exactly are you expecting to be? Right up front? In the middle? In the back, but close enough to see? I don’t think so. You’re going to be standing in a crowd somewhere in the Mall, miles away from the action. Oh, but don’t you worry: there will be TVs set up all around the Mall so that you can watch. So you can stand there and freeze with thousands of other people in Obama tee-shirts and watch the events from a TV situated in the street somewhere. All to say that you were somewhere in the general vicinity of this historical event. Well, so will I: on my couch, in the warmth of my apartment. Just as well off as you, only more comfortable. This is, of course, unless someone (ahem ahem) slips me a press pass…

I’ve been a bad Twitter-er, but I’m going to try again.

Today was productive in the least productive sort of way.

About grasshopperstothemoon

“Two things awe me most, the starry sky above me and the moral law within me.”
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

